Permanent Makeup License Requirements for TennesseeLast Updated: June 04, 2019
Permanent Makeup Licensure by State
Permanent makeup has grown fast and many have shown interest to learn the different techniques. Let us check out what you have in your state!
A statewide tattoo artist license shall be issued and is transferable within this state to any studio holding a current studio certificate issued by a local health department. The state of Tennessee is the most strict law when it comes approving a license for permanent makeup and tattoo shops.
The following are to have complied:
- 18 years of age
- Submit an application to the department of health or its designee.
- Pay an annual fee of $140
- Training program course in sterilization, methods and techniques for the proper sterilization of instruments and materials ( from a college/medical sterilization course)
- Take and pass an examination concerning this part before a tattoo artist permit shall be issued
- Two (2) years' experience as a professional tattoo artist
The renewal fee is annual and has a fee of $250.